Monday, May 11, 2009

A Great Ocean Vacation and Stinky Chicken

We just got back from our trip to visit Jay's family at the Gulf of Mexico in FL. It was so fun! Walker had a ball being a little fish in the swimming pool and in the Gulf. He was nervous about the waves at first but quickly figured it all out. We got some great photos of him being a "wizard" in the water throwing "magic" in the air.

Things have gotten back into the rhythm already! We had a good Mother's Day. Walker gave me a little picture frame that he painted and they took me to Bonefish. It was great! Jay gave me money to get my haircut, and I can't wait! It's been way too long.

He got in our bed with us this morning and we were all laying there talking. Out of the blue, he said, "Mom, I hate cigarettes. They're stinky." We talked about how bad they were for your body, and then I reminded him that Daddy uses something just like cigarettes. He remembered the chew and then said, "Daddy please stop chewing that stinky chicken!" I was so taken aback, and so was Jay - neither one of us answered. It was so hard to stifle a laugh! Stinky Chicken?!?!?! He was so serious, and his concern for his Dad was so big - it was so sweet. He kept saying, "Dad please stop chewing that stinky chicken. We don't want your lip to fall off." Daddy keeps this chew in his car in the center console, next to a can of canned chicken - stinky chicken? Those little minds...

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Super Walker











Walker has decided to become a superhero everyday. His Nana sent him a batman and superman costume. Here is SuperWalker!!

Sunday, April 12, 2009

"Hotness", a butterfly net and Easter!

Friday night we went out to dinner and then had to go to my office. Walker feels pretty comfortable there and was talking to the two staff working in the Hub - one was a guy, and the other a young blonde girl. We were saying goodbye to them and leaving, and Walker said, "Bye Rick," to the guy, and "Bye Hotness" to the girl. What?!?!?!?!? What has Daddy been teaching him anyways?? It turns out he and the girl were talking about fire and firemen - hence hotness (at least that's what he and Daddy worked up...).

Saturday morning I took him to an Easter Egg Hunt at the park outside the library. The egg hunt was broken up into categories, and Walker was in the 0 to 3 age group. He stood outside the yellow tape and waited, swinging his little bucket around, to race in and collect eggs. At the last second before they released the kids, one of the organizers came out and threw in about 6 or 8 "butterfly nets" and about the same number of little stuffed animals for the kids to get too. Walker has been really interested in butterfly nets for some reason lately, and was enthralled with those as soon as he saw them. There were probably about 100 or so kids and very few "butterfly nets" that were tossed really pretty far from where we were. I tried to remind him that it was all about having fun, and not to worry about the net - there were lots of kids who probably wanted one also. He said he knew and then readied himself. They released the kids and he went booking it over to the closest "net", which was collected by someone else just before he got there. He looked around fratically and saw another - this time he got it!! He held it up for me to see and said, "Look mom! I did it! I got a net!" He came racing back as fast as he could to show it to me and forgot all about the collecting of the eggs. I yelled out to him, "Buddy! Collect the eggs!!" He said, "Oh yeah!" and then looked down to start picking up eggs. In the end he collected 4 eggs and got his "net" - which turned out to be a big sunflower bubble wand with a tray for bubbles underneath it. He loves it anyway! It was great.

Today was Easter! We had a great one! This morning we went to brunch with our friends Brett and Ginger and their two kids - Elijah and Evalina. Walker had a great time, and so did we of course! Walk was super excited. We got him some new little dress up clothes that he helped pick out, and he insisted on getting himself a tie this year. I found him some dress shoes at Once Upon a Child that were brand new and SOOOOO cute for $7. He looked adorable and was so proud of himself all dressed up!! On the way to brunch he was telling us that he was going to work. He was saying that he drops off his son at daycare every morning and then goes to the office. When we asked him what he did he said, "I work with my coworkers."
Jay asked him what he was going to do today, and he said, "I'm going to lunch with my coworkers, some of my old students will be there."
Jay asked him if he was a teacher, and he said, "I used to be before you were born."
Jay asked him, "Before I was born?".
He said, "No, before my son was born and he's 5."
He never really did explain what his job was, he just kept saying that he was going to the office with his coworkers. Then he later told us, "If you don't do your job, you will get fired". Where does he get this stuff?? He had a ball hunting for eggs in our house and got a castle logic puzzle, a toothbrush, some toothpaste, a batman, a scooby doo book and a water trumpet in his easter basket. It was such a fun day!! Happy Easter!!

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Fillings Complete

Poor Walker had his 4, yep that's right, 4(!!!) cavities filled today. One was so bad he needed a baby tooth pulpectomy - a little root canal... Jay took him in to the dentist, where he saw a different dentist today. It went much better than last time. He got nitrous oxide which was DEFINITELY weighing on me, but he did great! Apparently the only thing he had trouble with was getting cotton put in his mouth. His tooth that got the crown was hurting him tonight, but the only time he complained was when we were eating dinner. Poor little guy, I think it was a bit traumatizing, maybe more for mom and dad than for him :) Isn't that how that goes?

Friday, March 27, 2009

"Quick Shut the Doors!!"

Yesterday was the big day - Walker's first trip to the dentist. We went to the Tooth Zone - a recommendation from a friend. One thing I can say for certain - the dentist has surely changed since I was a kid... We arrived there and were instantly overwhelmed with the bells and whistles. In the front of the building is a gigantic system of tunnels, climbing equipment and slides - just like McDonald's. There were little kid cars and a movie playing below. In the back - old style video games that were all free, and a WII of course. Walker thought it was fantastic. They had a plush waiting area for parents with gourmet coffee and magazines. As it was his first visit, they took him back to the area where he gets his teeth cleaned, while I got a tour of the place and then the chance to sit through a power point presentation on their practice. During the presentation I could hear Walker talking to the hygeniest in the other room almost the whole time. At one point, I thought I heard him crying pretty hard but I couldn't be sure. As soon as the power point was over, the Dentist came in - "Dr. Kent". He said, "Well Walker has 4 cavities - why do you think that is?" Wow - good question. If I knew - perhaps I would have tried to avoid them?!?! You can be sure we'll be cutting back on sugar and brushing away as much as we can. Particularly because now he has to get them filled!!

He seemed to like the dentist however and because I couldn't go back with him, of course I interviewed him about it afterwards. He said, "It was good Mom". Later in the day he told me that the dentist had taken pictures of his teeth. I asked him how it went and he said, "Not good. It hurt". I asked him what he did when they were taking the pictures and he told me he'd cried. Of course, I realized that this was the time that I heard him crying back there, and I was hopeful that they had comforted him. I asked him, "What did they do when you cried?" He said, "They yelled, 'Quick everybody shut the doors!'" OH!!!!! Horrible!!!! Hopefully this isn't what he remembers about the dentist. We'll be getting those 4 cavities filled soon, and the dentist wants to give him laughing gas. This was so not what I was hoping for.

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Is there survival with no nap??

We've entered a new era in our home. At our 3 year old doctor appointment, the doctor asked if he was taking naps still. I said that he did take 2 hour naps, but we were sometimes having trouble getting him to bed at night. So we discussed how to make it all better for awhile at which point Walker was playing with some sort of vent on the floor - it didn't appear he was even listening...

A couple weeks ago I heard him up in his room while he was "napping" banging around in there. I figured he'd figure it out and go back to sleep - because he's always LOVED his sleep. A little while later he poked his head out of the room and said, "Hey Mom, I'm done napping." When I asked him why he didn't nap today he said, "The doctor said I just needed to spend an hour in my room having quiet time." How in the world did he catch that part of the conversation? How did he know that an hour had passed?? Unbelievable I tell you!! I figured it was just that day, but actually it appears that this is a permanent situation. A few days later I kept hearing his door open and close, and then other rooms upstairs open and close. I finally called his name and he came to the bridge wearing only a pirate shirt and hat.

Today he had gymnastics and then we went with Emilee and Aleks to the park and on an impromptu visit to the fire department. They played hard. I was sure there would be a nap today as he was barely keeping himself awake in the car on the way home. He wanted Caleigh to sleep in his bed, so I let him. It sounded like he actually went to sleep. A little while later I heard him talking and singing. It didn't even last 45 minutes today. He got up and did fine all day until the witching hours. At about 6 pm he started saying he couldn't stay awake any longer. Jay gets home late, so with dinner and time with him he finally ended up in bed at 8 pm. Close, but we made it. Here's to hoping for another day of naps tomorrow.

Sunday, February 22, 2009

Wind, Tennis and a Big Kid Bed!!!










So Friday - we didn't have anything going on and it was supposed to be a nice day. Walker and I discussed playing tennis and he was excited. We woke up on Friday and the wind was blowing so hard that we could hear it blowing through our windows. Still he insisted on playing tennis. I tried to explain the wind and how it would be too hard to play, and not that fun, but this is my child and he insisted on playing tennis. I loaded his little bike in the back of my car and the rackets and the ball and we headed over to play tennis. All the way there we could hear the wind blowing through my bike rack on the car, "What is that noise Mommy?" Walker kept asking. I kept telling him it was the wind,
"Are you sure you want to play tennis?" Of course he's sure. We got over to the spot we were going to and parked. I pulled out all of our gear and he got on his bike - which started to blow away!
I said, "Are you sure you want to play tennis??" He's sure of course.
He started pedaling and we got a little closer to the courts and it was at this point that he realized just how much the wind sucked. I said, "Are you sure you want to play tennis?"
"I just can't ride this bike," he said, "put it back in the car."
We did and then I said, "Are you sure you want to play tennis buddy? If the wind is like this on a bike it will be like this playing tennis too." He was sure.

It took only a couple steps walking to the courts when he said, "Bunner (Bummer)! It's too windy to play tennis. Hey Mom, do you want to go to the library?"




Walker is completely potty trained now and so he's only been wearing diapers at naptime and at bedtime. Naps have been a little funny lately - sometimes he calls out for us after about an hour when he clearly hasn't slept - as we've heard banging and what sounds an awful lot like jumping in his room during this time... A couple times he's come in wearing underwear instead of the diaper we put him down in. Recently though he's been up there for hours - like 2 to 3!! So on Wednesday when I went in there to get him there were like 6 opened up diapers on the floor.

I said, "Bud what are all these diapers doing in here?"
He said, "Mom I peed in them."
"All of them?!?!"

"Yeah, so I changed my diaper." Okay - when you can change your own diaper I think you're too old for them...

I said, "Hey Buddy from now on you need to pee in the potty during naptime when you have to go pee. There's no reason to ruin all these diapers."
"Okay."

Well in the basement we have a trundle bed ("the magic bed") that he's been coveting. So we discussed that if he peed in the potty during naptime and didn't need the diapers anymore then he could get the magic bed. He was certain he could do it, so I put him down on Thursday and Friday with the same results. Friday however there were TONS of diapers in the bedroom and he had gotten into some in his closet. He also found the wipes and pulled a bunch of those out too. So today the magic bed moved upstairs into his room. While the bed was getting put together I asked him to pick up all the Good Knight books he was reading during his supposed naptime. He was using the toddler bed mattress as a slide at the time and said, "Mom I can't. I'm just to essited!" After Handy Daddy and I worked our hardest to get it up, we called in the reinforcements. Jay's friend Tyler came over and put the rest of it together. Ta Da!