So Friday - we didn't have anything going on and it was supposed to be a nice day. Walker and I discussed playing tennis and he was excited. We woke up on Friday and the wind was blowing so hard that we could hear it blowing through our windows. Still he insisted on playing tennis. I tried to explain the wind and how it would be too hard to play, and not that fun, but this is my child and he insisted on playing tennis. I loaded his little bike in the back of my car and the rackets and the ball and we headed over to play tennis. All the way there we could hear the wind blowing through my bike rack on the car, "What is that noise Mommy?" Walker kept asking. I kept telling him it was the wind,
"Are you sure you want to play tennis?" Of course he's sure. We got over to the spot we were going to and parked. I pulled out all of our gear and he got on his bike - which started to blow away!
I said, "Are you sure you want to play tennis??" He's sure of course.
He started pedaling and we got a little closer to the courts and it was at this point that he realized just how much the wind sucked. I said, "Are you sure you want to play tennis?"
"I just can't ride this bike," he said, "put it back in the car."
We did and then I said, "Are you sure you want to play tennis buddy? If the wind is like this on a bike it will be like this playing tennis too." He was sure.
It took only a couple steps walking to the courts when he said, "Bunner (Bummer)! It's too windy to play tennis. Hey Mom, do you want to go to the library?"
Walker is completely potty trained now and so he's only been wearing diapers at naptime and at bedtime. Naps have been a little funny lately - sometimes he calls out for us after about an hour when he clearly hasn't slept - as we've heard banging and what sounds an awful lot like jumping in his room during this time... A couple times he's come in wearing underwear instead of the diaper we put him down in. Recently though he's been up there for hours - like 2 to 3!! So on Wednesday when I went in there to get him there were like 6 opened up diapers on the floor.
I said, "Bud what are all these diapers doing in here?"
He said, "Mom I peed in them."
"All of them?!?!"
"Yeah, so I changed my diaper." Okay - when you can change your own diaper I think you're too old for them...
I said, "Hey Buddy from now on you need to pee in the potty during naptime when you have to go pee. There's no reason to ruin all these diapers."
"Okay."
Well in the basement we have a trundle bed ("the magic bed") that he's been coveting. So we discussed that if he peed in the potty during naptime and didn't need the diapers anymore then he could get the magic bed. He was certain he could do it, so I put him down on Thursday and Friday with the same results. Friday however there were TONS of diapers in the bedroom and he had gotten into some in his closet. He also found the wipes and pulled a bunch of those out too. So today the magic bed moved upstairs into his room. While the bed was getting put together I asked him to pick up all the Good Knight books he was reading during his supposed naptime. He was using the toddler bed mattress as a slide at the time and said, "Mom I can't. I'm just to essited!" After Handy Daddy and I worked our hardest to get it up, we called in the reinforcements. Jay's friend Tyler came over and put the rest of it together. Ta Da!
No comments:
Post a Comment